

WHEREAS, Upshur County, Texas has a need to apply for a HAVA grant administered by the Texas Secretary of State; and

WHEREAS, Upshur County understands and agrees that it has certain obligations that it must fulfill in order to qualify for the grant, and that if such obligations are not fulfilled that any funds received pursuant to the grant will be returned to the Office of the Texas Secretary of State in full.

WHEREFORE, be and it is hereby resolved by Upshur County, Texas as follows:

Upshur County agrees that the expenditure of the funds will be in accordance with applicable federal and state law and any agreement between Upshur County and the State of Texas, Office of the Secretary of State, as authorized under Section 101 of the Help America Vote Act of 2020 and in consultation and agreement with the county election official(s) as defined in Section 12.001 and 31.091 of the Texas Election Code.

Upshur County agrees to assign a single point of contact (SPOC) to act on behalf of the county in communicating with the Office of the Secretary of State, including the submission of all necessary reports.

Upshur County agrees claims against the fund shall be audited and approved in the same manner as other claims against the county before they are paid.

Upshur County agrees that it will not consider the availability of such grant funds in adopting the county budget.

Upshur County agrees that in the event of loss, misuse, or noncompliance pursuant to any grant award agreement with the Secretary of State, Upshur County will refund and return such grant funds to the Office of the Secretary of State in full.

Upshur County hereby designates as the single point of contact (SPOC) between it and the Texas Secretary of State regarding any HAVA grant funds to be the Office of the Upshur County Auditor.

WHEREFORE, in witness of this resolution witness our signatures hereto below on this the 29th day of May, 2020.

C

Todd Tefteller, Upshur County Judge

Paula Gentry, Commissioner Pct. 1

Frank Berka, Commissioner Pct. 3

رگ - 0 2

Dustin Nicholson, Commissioner, Pct. 2

Jay Miller, Commissioner, Pct. 4

0 £